Time to specify summer possession
Specify Summer custody and stay on top of deadlines of child custody agreementsTime to specify summer possession
Most parenting plans incorporate the Standard Possession Order found in the Texas Family Code which sets forth provisions for parents having possession of the child at times specified in the order. The Code also states that parents may form their own mutual agreements about when each will have possession of the child, and if they do not otherwise agree, then the Standard Possession Order will apply.
The parent who is named as the possessory conservator (often referred to as non-custodial parent) must give notice to the parent named as the managing conservator as to when they intend to have the expanded 30 days with the child. Both parents might make special plans during that month.
Deadlines to schedule your 30 days
Collin County divorce lawyers often share reminders with current and past clients to make sure the summer possession schedules are set before the April 1st deadline used by most courts and as set forth in the Texas Family Code.[i]
The managing conservator is allowed one weekend with the child during the possessory conservator parent?s summer month and the deadline for the managing conservator to give notice of which weekend is April 15th.
What happens if you do not give notice by your deadlines?
If the possessory conservator does not give written notice to the managing conservator of their extended summer possession by April 1st, the Family Code states that the possessory conservator will have the child for 30 days beginning 6 p.m. July 1st and ending 6 p.m. July 31st.
The same rules apply to the managing conservator?s weekend selection and if they do not give written notice until April 16 or after, then they will have an extra weekend of their choosing between the time that the child is dismissed from school for summer vacation and before school resumes at the end of summer vacation. The managing conservator must give the possessory conservator 14 days? written notice which extra weekend they want to have the child.
At Scroggins Law Group in Plano, Texas, we have more than 20 years of experience with family law cases in Collin, Denton and Dallas Counties. When you retain our firm, you can trust that your case is in the hands of a highly skilled, dedicated professional. We understand the unique challenges of a high value divorce case, and more importantly, have the knowledge and experience you need on your side. Call us today at (469) 626-5220 to learn more about Texas divorce and family law.
To learn more about the attorneys at our Plano, Texas office and all the different ways we can help you, please feel free to?Contact Us?today.
Follow Us On Social
*Mark L. Scroggins is *board-certified in family law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Unless otherwise noted, other attorneys are not *board-certified.
**Super Lawyers (a Thomson Reuters service, awarded to Mark Scroggins 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021)
The information in this article (OR ON THIS WEBSITE) is for general information purposes only. The information contained herein is not guaranteed to be correct, complete, or up to date. You should not rely on any information in this article, but should consult a licensed attorney for legal advice regarding your specific case. Nothing in this article should be construed as legal advice for any individual case or situation. Viewing of this information is not intended and does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Additional Resources